Pearsons Hall was commissioned and built in the late 19th century to serve as the College's science hall. To oversee its construction, College officials sought renowned architect and urban planner Daniel Hudson Burnham. Burnham is now famous for designing such noteworthy structures as the Flatiron Building in New York City and Washington, D.C.'s Union Station, as well as the architecture of the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893. Photographs of the latter event can be found in the Herbert Gaytes Collection.
In addition to serving as the home for the sciences, Pearsons Hall once housed the Logan Museum of Anthropology and is now the location of the Jeffris-Wood Campus Center. Over 100 years after its construction, the building continues to be a vibrant component of the Beloit College landscape. This collection contains over 70 letters, postcards, and images that document the early life of the building, including colorful correspondence from D.K. Pearsons and Daniel Burnham themselves. These items provide fascinating insights into the process of constructing the building and the minds behind its design.
The Pearsons Hall Collection provides only a sample of the information about the building contained in the Beloit College Archives. To learn more, contact or visit the Archives located on the lower level of Beloit College Library.
Special thanks to library volunteers Brett Fawcett and Beth McGowan for their invaluable contributions to this collection.